2020 Recipients

Alabama

Painting with Parkinson's, YMCA of South Alabama, Foley, AL
Contact: Pam Anderson, panderson@ysal.org, ysal.org

Outside the Pill Box: Integrated Interdisciplinary Allied Care, Huntsville Hospital Foundation, Inc., Huntsville, AL
Contact: Diane Brown, diane.brown@hhsys.org, huntsvillehospitalfoundation.org

Arkansas

Community Fitness PWR! Moves Program, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Little Rock, AR
Contact: Chris Oholendt, ckoholendt@uams.edu, medicine.uams.edu

Arizona

Banner Neuro Wellness Early Intervention Program, Banner University Medical Center Tucson, Phoenix, AZ 
Contact: Annette Kluge, annette.edwards@bannerhealth.com, bannerhealth.com

Parkinson's Awareness Day, Valley of the Sun Jewish Community Center, Scottsdale, AZ
Contact: Andrea Quen, andreaq@vosjcc.org, vosjcc.org

California

Rx Ballroom Dance Therapy Program - Dance for Improved Quality of Life!, Rx Ballroom Dance, Ladera Ranch, CA
Contact: Erin Drake, info@rxballroomdance.com, rxballroomdance.com

Spread the Word: Mental Health Resources and Outreach to People with Parkinson’s Disease, Parkinson's Association of Northern California , Folsom, CA
Contact: Barbara Fleck, fleckb@parkinsonsacramento.org, panctoday.org

Luchando contra el Parkinson, Juan Carlos Organization, San Diego, CA
Contact: Lisbeth Garces, juancarlosorganization@gmail.com, jcorg.org

North State Therapy Choir, Chico, North Valley Community Foundation, Chico, CA
Contact: Erin Haley, erin@haleymusictherapy.com, nvcf.org

PD Bootcamp: access to specialty care for newly diagnosed and underserved, Re+Active Physical Therapy and Wellness, Torrence, CA
Contact: Julie Hersberg, info@re-activept.com, reactivept.com

Expansion of the Parkinson's Exercise Programs in Orange County, CA, Parkinson’s Association of Orange, County Irvine, CA
Contact: Kerry Keen, kerrykeen@pacbell.net, paocinc.org

PASB Latino Outreach Program, Parkinson Association of Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Contact: Barbara Levi, bglevi@msn.com, mypasb.org

Parkinson's Exercise Program 2020 Community Grant, City of Union City - Community & Recreation Services, Union City, CA
Contact: Robert Magbanua, robertmagbanua@unioncity.org

Increasing access to high quality exercise and educational programs for people newly diagnosed with Parkinson's in Orange County, California, Rogue Physical Therapy & Wellness, Inc, Fountain Valley, CA
Contact: Claire McLean, info@roguept.com, roguept.com

Long Beach Medical Center's Parkinson's Wellness Program, Memorial Medical Center Foundation, Long Beach, CA 
Contact: Jan McQueen, JMcQueen@memorialcare.org, memorialcare.org

PD-Connect™ The First BIG Step™, PD-Connect, Corte Madera, CA
Contact: Lisa Oei, lisa@pd-connect.org, pd-connect.org

The Time is Now: The Power of Dance, USA Dance Inc, Palmdale, CA
Contact: Lisa Sandoval, lisadance1@aol.com, usadance.org

Colorado

Rural Community Outreach, Parkinson Association of the Rockies, Denver, CO
Contact: Jodi Brown, jbrown@parkinsonrockies.org, parkinsonrockies.org

Parkinson's Pointe Pilot Program, Parkinson’s Community Center, Aurora, CO
Contact: Meredith Lo, meredith@parkinsonspointe.org, parkinsonspointe.org

Delaware

Improving Access to Mental Health Care for People with Parkinson's Disease and Caregivers in the State of Delaware, University of Delaware, Newark, DE
Contact: Carolyn Haines, chaines@udel.edu, udel.edu

Florida

Parkinson’s Individualized Care Advising and Program Growth and Expansion, Sebring, Highlands County, FL, Neuro Challenge Foundation for Parkinson's, Inc., Sarasota, FL 
Contact: Robyn Faucy-Washington, robyn@neurochallenge.org, neurochallenge.org

Tampa Bay Parkinson's Disease Newly Diagnosed Wellness Initiative, Tampa JCC/Federation Inc., Tampa, FL 
Contact: Pnina Levermore, Pnina.levermore@jewishtampa.com, jewishtampa.com

The Park Avenue Project!, St. Augustine Rehabilitation Specialists, St. Augustine, FL
Contact: Melanie Lomaglio, Melanie@starsrehab.org, starsrehab.org

Parkinson's Cycle Program, YMCA of South Palm Beach County, Inc., Boca Raton, FL
Contact: Robin Nierman , rnierman@ymcaspbc.org, ymcaspbc.org

Parkinson's Wellness Program, Memorial Foundation, Inc. of MHS-Hollywood, FL, Hollywood, FL
Contact: Nancy Vidaurre, nvidaurre@mhs.net, mhs.net

Rock Steady Boxing at the MAR-JCC, Michael-Ann Russell Jewish Community Center, North Miami, FL
Contact: Dany Weil, RSB@marjcc.org, marjcc.org

Georgia

Singing with Parkinson's: Atlanta's FIRST Parkinson's Choir, The George Center for Music Therapy, Roswell, GA
Contact: Jamie George, jamie@thegeorgecenter.com, thegeorgecenter.com

DREAMing Together: A Parkinson Caregiver's Wellness Education and Advocacy Training Program, Emory University, Atlanta, GA 
Contact: Madeleine Hackney, mehackn@emory.edu, emory.edu

PD Gladiators Exercise Program, YMCA of Metro Atlanta, Atlanta, GA 
Contact: Laura Kahn, lauraka@ymcaatlanta.org, ymcaatlanta.org

Community Conversations with Emory Parkinson's Disease Researchers, Emory University, Atlanta, GA
Contact: Thomas Wichmann, twichma@emory.edu, emory.edu

Boxing Program for Newly Diagnosed, True Beginning Wellness Inc, Jasper, GA 
Contact: Katy Baker, kbaker@ellijay.com

Hawaii

Sing, Play, Move, Connect: Group Music Therapy for the Parkinson's Community, Sounding Joy Music Therapy, Inc., Honolulu, HI 
Contact: Maria Guerrero, sounding@soundingjoymt.org, soundingjoymt.org

Illinois

Interactive Demonstrations, Education, Activities, and Support for Mental Health in PD (IDEAS for Mental Health in PD), Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago dba Shirley Ryan AbilityLab, Chicago, IL
Contact: Jennifer Goldman, jgoldman02@sralab.org, sralab.org

Multi-Component Tele-Vocational Rehabilitation (tele-VR) Program for Parkinson’s Disease, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago dba Shirley Ryan AbilityLab, Chicago, IL
Contact: Miriam Rafferty, mrafferty@sralab.org, sralab.org

Community-Based Parkinson's Programming - YMCA and Northwestern Medicine Collaboration, YMCA of Northwestern DuPage County, Glen Ellyn, IL
Contact: Katie Sivak, ksivak@ryallymca.org, brryallymca.org

Iowa

Cedar Rapids Metro Parkinson's Community Grant, Cedar Rapids Metro Parkinson's Association, Cedar Rapids, IA 
Contact: Kris Cameron, kriscameron@crmetroparkinsons.com, crmetroparkinsons.com

Kansas

Movement for Parkinson's, The Jewish Community Center of Greater Kansas City, Overland Park, KS
Contact: Dawn Aronoff, dawna@thejkc.org, thejkc.org

Community choir and online music-based resources for people with Parkinson's and their caregivers, CCRC of Lenexa, Lenexa, KS
Contact: Judy Baxter, judy.baxter@westchestervillagelenexa.com

Parkinson's and the Art of Expression, The Parkinson's Exercise and Wellness Center, Overland Park, KS 
Contact: Stephanie Goodman, sgoodman@thepewc.org, thepewc.org

iCAN with PD: Confidence about Nutrition, Swallowing, Activities of Daily Living and Emotional Wellness with Parkinson's Education Series, Meadowlark Hills Foundation, Manhattan, KS
Contact: Michelle Haub, mhaub@meadowlark.org, meadowlark.org

Kentucky

Lexington Area Parkinson's Support Group Symposium Expansion, Lexington Area Parkinson Disease Support Group, Inc, Lexington, KY
Contact: Laura Soldato, laura@parkinsonslexington.com , parkinsonslexington.com

Louisiana

Metairie Dance for Parkinson’s Program, New Orleans Ballet Association, New Orleans, LA 
Contact: Jenny Hamilton, jhamilton@nobadance.com, nobaevents.com

Parkinson Resource Center Dance with Parkinson's Community Program, Louisiana Tech University, Ruston, LA
Contact: Donna Hood, dhood@latech.edu, https://ans.latech.edu/research-outreach/parkinsons-resource-center/

Massachusetts 

Parkinson's Program Expansion, South Shore Young Men's Christian Association, Norwell, MA
Contact: John Galluzzo, jgalluzzo@ssymca.org, ssymca.org

SCORE Power Training for Parkinson's Fitness (aka Parkinson's Fitness), SCORE Power Training for Parkinson's Fitness, Salem, MA
Contact: Linda Hall, parkinsonsfitness@gmail.com

Goddard House Parkinson's Program, Goddard House Assisted Living, Brookline, MA
Contact: Christine Nagle , cnagle@goddardhouse.org, goddardhouse.org

Nutrition Program for Individuals & Families Affected by Parkinson’s Disease, Community Servings, Inc., Jamaica Plain, MA 
Contact: Tobin Scipione, tscipione@servings.org, servings.org

Maryland

Rock Steady Boxing at the Y, YMCA of Central Maryland, Inc., Baltimore, MD
Contact: Dana Hotra, danahotra@ymaryland.org, ymaryland.org

Maine

Improving the Lives of People with Parkinson's Disease through an Evidence-Based Wellness Program, Bangor Young Mens Christian Association, Bangor, ME
Contact: Marjorie Droppa, mdroppa@bangory.org, bangory.org

Pedaling for Parkinson's, Alfond Youth & Community Center, Waterville, ME
Contact: Crista Lavenson, clavenson@clubaycc.org, clubaycc.org

Michigan

YMCA of Greater Grand Rapids’ Parkinson’s Support Program, YMCA of Greater Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI 
Contact: Amanda Ciofu, aciofu@grymca.org, grymca.org

Equitable Exercise for People with Parkinson’s Disease 2.0, Ascension Genesys Foundation, Grand Blanc, MI 
Contact: Susan Tippett, susan.tippett@ascension.org, genesyshealthfoundation.org

Minnesota

Developing and Delivering a Quarterly Education Workshop: Achieving a Happy and Healthy Life with Parkinson's Disease, Exercisabilities, Inc, Rochester, MN 
Contact: Melanie Brennan, melanie@exercisabilities.org, exercisabilities.org

Expanding the Benefits of Movement to People of Color and Indigenous Peoples with Parkinson's, Element Community Health Fund, Inc DBA: CoMotion: Center for Movement, Saint Paul, MN
Contact: Kim Heikkila, heik0012@umn.edu

Missouri

Art Therapy Program for Parkinson’s Disease patients, Saint Luke's Foundation, Kansas City, MO
Contact: Meredith Cantrell, mecantrell@saintlukeskc.org, saintlukeskc.org

"Parkinson’s Group of the Ozarks Mobilizing Music Program", Parkinson's Group of the Ozarks, Springfield, MO 
Contact: Justin Milam, justin@parkinsonsgroup.org, parkinsonsgroup.net

Mississippi

Parkinson's Wellness, Young Men's Christian Association, Metropolitan Jackson, Flowood, MS
Contact: Renee Maxwell, healthintervention@metroymcams.org, metroymcams.org/flowood

Mississippi Gulf Coast YMCA Fitness Class Grant, Mississippi Gulf Coast YMCA, Ocean Springs, MS
Contact: Joey Conwill, jconwill@mgcymca.org, mgcymca.org

Nevada

Day One - Your Superhero Origin Story - Zoltan Mari - Center for Neurological Restoration, Parkinson's Place Las Vegas, Las Vegas, NV
Contact: Robert Cochrane, robert@cszlasvegas.com, parkinsonsplacelv.org

Recalibrate Motor Control Training & PALS, Motorvation Foundation Inc., Las Vegas, NV 
Contact: Darbe Schlosser, darbeschlosser@motorvationusa.com, motorvationfoundation.org

New Hampshire 

Upper Valley Programs for Parkinson's, Upper Valley Programs for Parkinson's, Lebanon,NH
Contact: Rick Dickson, rick.dickson@joinccba.org, uvparkinsons.org

New Jersey

Dance for Parkinson's Classes, Princeton Ballet Society (dba American Repertory Ballet), New Brunswick, NJ
Contact: Rachel Abrams rabrams@arballet.org, arballet.org

Parkinson's Connection, Jewish Federation of Southern New Jersey, Cherry Hill, NJ
Contact: Brian Adler badler@jfedsnj.org, jewishsouthjersey.org

Rutgers Dance and Parkinson's Program, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Piscataway, NJ
Contact: Jeff Friedman, jfdance@mgsa.rutgers.edu, rutgers.edu

ParkinSINGS Choir for Newly Diagnosed Adults, JFK Medical Center, Edison, NJ
Contact: Deborah Smith, deborah.smith@hackensackmeridian.org, jfkmc.org

New York

Dance for PD, Discalced, Inc., dba Mark Morris Dance Group, Brooklyn, NY
Contact: Michelle Amador michelle@mmdg.org, markmorrisdancegroup.org

Ping Pong Parkinson, PingPongParkinson, Pleasantville, NY
Contact: Nenad Bach, NenadBach@gmail.com, pingpongparkinson.com

Movement and Music for Living Well with Parkinson's, Sephardic Community Youth Center, Brooklyn, NY
Contact: Linda Eber, Linda@scclive.org, scclive.org

Shakespeare For Parkinson's, Rod Rodgers Dance Company, New York, NY
Contact: Nick Filippini, nfilippini1994@gmail.com, rodrodgersdance.org

A Community-Based Program for Social Participation and Exercise for Individuals with Parkinson's Disease, Long Island University, Greenvale, NY
Contact: Gemma Moya Gale, gemma.moya-gale@liu.edu, liu.edu

Stress Management & Resiliency Training Program (SMART-3RP) for Parkinson's Patients & Caregivers, The Research Foundation of SUNY- SUNY at Stony Brook, Stony Brook, NY
Contact: Adam Gonzalez, adam.gonzalez@stonybrook.edu, rfsuny.org

Moving Forward Together - An Educational Program for Those Living with Parkinson's Disease & Their Caregivers, Albany Medical College, Albany, NY
Contact: Eric Molho, molhoe@amc.edu, amc.edu

Promoting physical activity engagement for people with early stage Parkinson’s disease (Engage-PD), Teachers College, Columbia University, New York, NY
Contact: Lori Quinn, lq2165@tc.columbia.edu, columbia.edu

North Carolina

Poised for Parkinson's in the Carolinas: A new approach for managing motor and non-motor symptoms of Parkinson's and improving functionality, The Poise Project, Candler, NC
Contact: Monika Gross, monika.gross@thepoiseproject.org, thepoiseproject.org

YMCA Parkinson's Program-- Expansion and Community Outreach, YMCA of Southeastern North Carolina, Wilmington, NC
Contact: Marjorie Lanier, marjorie.lanier@ymcasenc.org, ymcasenc.org

Parkinson’s Movement Initiative at ADF, American Dance Festival, Durham, NC
Contact: Caitlyn Swett, caitlyn@americandancefestival.org, americandancefestival.org

North Dakota

Rock Steady Boxing BisMan, Family Wellness Bismarck Mandan LLC, Mandan, ND
Contact: Taija Bohn, taija.bohn@familywellnessbisman.org, familywellnessbisman.org

Ohio

Ohio State’s Comprehensive Community Programming for Individuals with Parkinson’s Disease, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
Contact: Jared Braden, jared.braden@osumc.edu, osu.edu

Mental Health Benefits of Mindful Movement for People with Parkinson's Disease, InMotion, Warrensville Heights, OH
Contact: Cathe Schwartz, cschwartz@beinmotion.org, beinmotion.org

Oklahoma

Stillwater CANe Project (Communication, Arts, Nutrition, Exercise) for Individuals with Parkinson Disease and their Families, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
Contact: Sabiha Parveen, sabiha.parveen@okstate.edu, okstate.edu

Pennsylvania

Mindfulness Based Program for Newly Diagnosed Parkinson’s Patients, St. Luke's Hospital & Health Network, Bethlehem, PA
Contact: Nancy Diaz-Pechar, Nancy.Diaz-Pechar@sluhn.org

Singercise - Therapeutic Singing for those with Parkinson's, Greater Susquehanna Valley YMCA, Sunbury, PA
Contact: Bonita McDowell, ymcaexec@ptd.net, gsvymca.org

South Carolina

Cane Bay Family YMCA PWR!, YMCA of Greater Charleston/ Cannon Street YMCA, Summerville, SC 
Contact: Jamie Bowman-Carroll, fitness@ymcagc.org, ymcagc.org

Education and Exercise Support for Individuals Newly Diagnosed and their Care Partners, South Carolina Research Foundation, Columbia, SC 
Contact: Alicia Flach, adflach@mailbox.sc.edu, sc.edu

Empowering Newly Diagnosed Through Education and Reach, Greenville Area Parkinson Society, Greenville, SC
Contact: Kamber Parker, kamber@gapsonline.org, gapsonline.org

South Dakota

YMCA of Rapid City - Parkinson's Disease Program, YMCA of Rapid City, Rapid City, SD
Contact: Alyssa Silko, alyssas@rcymca.org, rcymca.org

Tennessee

Rock Steady Boxing Music City and Franklin, Rock Steady Boxing Music City, Franklin, TN
Contact: Colleen Bridges, nashbridges@comcast.net, franklin.rsbaffiliate.com

PFP Support Groups and Awareness in Middle Tennessee, Peterson Foundation for Parkinson's, 

Nashville, TN
Contact: Ashley Hood, ajhood22@gmail.com, petersonforparkinsons.org

The University of Tennessee Medical Center Annual Parkinson's Symposium, University of Tennessee Medical Center, Knoxville, TN
Contact: Charlotte Sorensen, csorensen@utmck.edu, utmedicalcenter.org

Texas

The MIND Program (Movement Initiative for the Newly Diagnosed), Parkinson's Mind Body Institute, Dallas, TX
Contact: Valerie Johnson, valerie@balancetherapyllc.com

Support for Power for Parkinson's Wellness Programs, Power for Parkinson’s, Austin, TX
Contact: Nina Mosier, nina.mosier@powerforparkinsons.org, powerforparkinsons.org

Expanding Move. Laugh. Connect. to Inner City Dallas, Dallas Area Parkinsonism Society, Dallas, TX
Contact: Leisha Phipps, leisha@daps.org, daps.us

Impact of Community Boxing on Non-Motor Symptoms and Physical Therapy Student Professionalism, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX
Contact: Staci Shearin, staci.shearin@utsouthwestern.edu, utswmed.org

Virginia

The YOPD Wellness Web, DC Metro Charter Chapter, Can't Shake Me, Inc., Leesburg, VA
Contact: Anna Grill, agrill@cantshakeme.org, cantshakeme.org

Virginia Commonwealth University and Power Over Parkinson's: Parkinson's Activity League (PAL), VCU-162/162 Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA
Contact: Robert Hand, robert.hand@vcuhealth.org, vcu.edu

Washington

Swedish Medical Center Living Well with Parkinson's Program, Swedish Medical Center Foundation, Seattle, WA
Contact: Michelle Scheff, michelle.scheff@swedish.org, swedishfoundation.org

Wisconsin

Movement & Music, Wisconsin Parkinson Association, Brookfield, WI 
Contact: Gary Garland, garyg@wiparkinson.org, wiparkinson.org

Community Outreach Resource Education Grants

In 2020, the Parkinson's Foundation launched the Centers of Excellence Community Outreach Resource Education (CORE) grants to support community-based education and outreach programs that address unmet needs in the Parkinson’s community. 

For a full list, please visit CORE Grants.

X
 

Sign Up for Our E-Newsletter

Get the latest news about PD research, resources and community initiatives – straight to your inbox.

Please enter a valid email

Skip step



Invalid year format. Eg: 2020
Skip step
Skip step


*Please note that not all content is available in both languages. If you are interested in receiving Spanish communications, we recommend selecting “both" to stay best informed on the Foundation's work and the latest in PD news.

Skip step

Thanks for Signing Up

We are proud to have you as a part of our community. To ensure you receive the latest Parkinson’s news, research updates and more, please check your email for a message from us. If you do not see our email, it may be in your spam folder. Just mark as “not spam” and you should receive our emails as expected.

mail icon

Subscribe here to get the latest news on treatments, research and other updates.