Community Outreach Resource Education Grants

In 2020, the Parkinson's Foundation launched the Centers of Excellence Community Outreach Resource Education (CORE) grants to support community-based education and outreach programs that address unmet needs in the Parkinson’s community. 

These grants fund the furthering of innovative health initiatives, wellness and education programs for people with Parkinson's disease (PD). All national and international centers can receive a CORE grant for their wellness educational programs to their underserved PD communities.  

The five focus areas for FY2020 applications include:  

  • Services for diverse and underserved populations.   
  • Community healthcare professional training/education.  
  • Programs that address mental health and Parkinson’s.  
  • Innovative programs that reach Young-Onset Parkinson’s Disease.  
  • Innovative therapeutic programs.

Centers of Excellence CORE Grant Recipients

In August 2020, the Parkinson’s Foundation awarded 19 CORE grant recipients across the Center of Excellence network. Grants fund a variety of programs that address mental health, provide services to diverse and underserved populations, offer a variety of innovative therapies and programs, and provide professional healthcare training. 

2020 Center of Excellence CORE grant recipients:

Canada

Parkinson’s Disease: Movement to Mental Health, Toronto Western Hospital, Toronto, Canada
Contact: Haseel Bhatt, haseel.bhatt@uhn.ca, uhn.ca

The Book Club, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
Contact: Elaine Book, elaine.book@vch.ca, ubc.ca

Germany

Insight into Parkinson's Disease Symptoms by Using Mindfulness - Offering a newly developed mindfulness program tailored for the specific needs of patients with Parkinson's Disease, Philipps-University of Marburg, Marburg, Germany 
Contact: Carsten Eggers, carsten.eggers@uk-gm.de, uni-marburg.de

United States

Arizona
Hispanic Outreach Leadership Conference 2021, Dignity Health dba St. Joseph's Hospital & Medical Center, Phoenix, AZ
Contact: Claudia Martinez, claudia.martinez001@dignityhealth.org, dignityhealth.org

Colorado
University of Colorado Advanced Treatments in Movement Disorders Program: Narrowing the knowledge gap between primary care providers and movement disorders neurologists in the treatment of advanced Parkinson’s disease, University of Colorado Denver, AMC and DC, Aurora, CO
Contact: Drew Kern, drew.kern@cuanschutz.edu, ucdenver.edu

Florida
Philip Shayman Parkinson's Program- Parkinson's Disease Patient and Care Partner Support Groups, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
Contact: Leigh Harrell, leighharrell@usf.edu, usf.edu

Illinois
Growing the Chicago Movement Coalition: An academic-community partnership for Parkinson’s education in underserved communities, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, IL
Contact: Danielle Larson, danielle.larson@northwestern.edu, feinberg.northwestern.edu

Mental Health and Emotional Well-being - Living with Parkinson's Disease, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL
Contact: Sharlet Anderson, sharlet_a_anderson@rush.edu, rushu.rush.edu

The Live Well, Be Free program by Rush University, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL
Contact: Lucia Blasucci, lucia_blasucci@rush.edu, rushu.rush.edu

I SEE PD Home: Interactive Symposia and Educational Experience on Parkinson's Disease for Home Health Professionals, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL
Contact: Jori Fleisher, jori_fleisher@rush.edu, rushu.rush.edu

Indiana
Therapeutic Arts and Expressive Arts Therapies, IU School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN
Contact: Elizabeth Zauber, szauber@iupui.edu

Massachusetts
Living Alone with Parkinson’s: A Program Offering Planning, Social Support and Education, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA
Contact: Lissa Kapust, lkapust@bidmc.harvard.edu, bidmc.org

Maryland
Painting for Parkinson's, Johns Hopkins University-School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD
Contact: Kelly Mills, kmills16@jhmi.edu, hopkinsmedicine.org

Minnesota
Establishing A Rural PD Network in Minnesota/western Wisconsin, Park Nicollet Struthers Parkinson's Center, Golden Valley, MN
Contact: Rose Wichmann, wichmr@parknicollet.com, struthers-parkinsons-center.org

North Carolina
UNC Parkinson's Hospitalization Improvement Program - Assessment Phase, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Chapel Hill, NC), Chapel Hill, NC
Contact: Nina Browner, brownern@neurology.unc.edu, unc.edu

New York
Clearing a Path to Improved Care and Opportunities for Hispanic People with Parkinson’s, Parkinson's Foundation Center of Excellence at the University of Rochester, Rochester, NY
Contact: Blanca Valdovinos, blanca_valdovinos@urmc.rochester.edu, rochester.edu

Fresco Institute Parkinson's Disease Educational Programs, New York University School of Medicine, New York City, NY
Contact: grants.office@med.nyu.edu, med.nyu.edu

Ohio
Parkinson's Disease Yoga Therapy Program, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland, OH 
Contact: Alicia Switzer, switzea@ccf.org, clevelandclinic.org

Pennsylvania
Close Contact for Couples with Parkinson’s, The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
Contact: Suzanne Reichwein, sreichwein@pennmedicine.upenn.edu, pennmedicine.org

mail icon

Subscribe here to get the latest news on treatments, research and other updates.